Dictionary of gods and goddesses. REF BL473 .J67 2004 (In Library Use)
Brief descriptions and definitions of deities from around the world with a chronology of major religions.
Dictionary of African mythology: the mythmaker as storyteller. REF BL2400 .S24 2000 (In Library Use). Brief entries on a wide variety of African myths and deities, indexed by country and linguistic/cultural group.
Encyclopedia of religious rites, rituals, and festivals. BL31 .E47 2004 (Regular Loan)
Table of contents: http://www.loc.gov/catdir/toc/ecip049/2003020389.html
Religion: a cross-cultural encyclopedia. REF BL80.2 .L463 1996 (In Library Use)
Brief definitions and entries with a bibliography and indexes.
Encyclopedia of women and world religion. REF BL458 .E53 1999 (In Library Use) 2 VOLS.
Encyclopedia of women and religion in North America. REF BL458 .E52 2006 (In Library Use) 3 VOLS.
Encyclopedia of African and African-American religions. REF BL2462.5 .E53 2001 (In Library Use)
Encyclopedia of African history and culture. REF DT3 .P27 2001 (Regular Loan) 3 VOLS.
Volume 1 covers Ancient Africa (prehistory to 500 CE); Volume 2, African kingdoms (500 to 1500); and Volume 3, conquest to colonialization (1500-1850), includes bibliographies and indexes.
UXL Encyclopedia of Native American Tribes. REF E76.2.U85 1999. (In Library Use) 4 VOLS.
A useful place to begin research on a particular tribe. Entries include maps, history, population, language, religion, customs, current issues, notable people, etc. for 80 Native American tribes, confederacies, and groups.
Gale Encyclopedia of Native American Tribes. REF E77.G15 1998. . (In Library Use) 4 VOLS.
Briefer entries than those in the UXL Encyclopedia of Native American Tribes, but with a broader coverage, including nearly 400 Native American groups. Essays cover history, language, culture, and current issues.
Archaeology of Prehistoric Native America: An Encyclopedia. REF E77.9.A72 1998. (In Library Use)
Entries are organized by major cultural areas with information on major archaeological sites, archaeologists, artifacts, etc. Signed articles with brief bibliographies. Subject index helps to locate specific topics.
Encyclopedia of Native American shamanism. REF E98.M4 L98 1998 (In Library Use)
Native American sacred medicinal, ritual, and ceremonial practices, arranged alphabetically, indexed by tribes. Includes extensive references and a bibliography on ethnobotany.
Continuum encyclopedia of native art. REF E98.A7 W49 2000 (In Library Use)
Brief definitions and entries enhanced by maps, color plates, and line drawings that depict native art and artifacts. Includes bibliographical references and index.
Encyclopedia of Native American religions: an introduction. REF E98.R3 H73 2000 (Regular Loan)
Brief entries on a wide variety of topics relating to Native American religion. Includes bibliographies.
Indigenous peoples and environmental issues: an encyclopedia. REF GF50 .J65 2003 (In Library Use)
Encyclopedia of cultural anthropology. REF GN307 .E52 1996 (In Library Use) 4 VOLS.
Sponsored by Human Relations Area Files at Yale University. Includes bibliographies and indexes. Signed essays and brief overviews on cultures from around the world and across history.
Encyclopedia of world cultures. REF GN307 .E53 1991 (In Library Use) 10 VOLS.
Each volume of this 10 volume set covers a different area of the world. Includes signed articles, brief definitions, maps, bibliographies, filmographies and indexes. Good starting place for research.
Encyclopedia of American Indian Costume. REF E98.C8 P37 1994. (In Library Use)
Arranged by geographic area then by tribe, each entry includes basic dress for men and women, footwear, headgear, armor, hairstyles, and jewelry. Numerous black-and-white photographs enhance the volume.
Handbook of North American Indians. REF E77.H25 (In Library Use)
Considered a definitive source for Native American studies, this multi-volume set includes lengthy essays on tribes, language, history, beliefs. Volume 4 is devoted entirely to an analysis of the history of Indian-White relations.
Handbook of South American Indians. F2229 .S68 (Regular Loan) 7 VOLS.
Prepared in cooperation with the United States Department of State as a project of the Interdepartmental Committee on Science and Cultural Cooperation. Published in 1963.
Biographical Dictionary of American Indian History to 1900. REF E89.W35 2001. (In Library Use)
Brief biographical entries serve as a beginning step for locating information on people who had an impact on Native American history. Includes indexes by tribe, area of activity, historical period, and subject. Information on more recent Native Americans of fame may be found in Notable Native Americans.
Atlas of the North American Indian. REF E77.W195. (Regular Loan)
Arranged alphabetically by broad subject, provides current and historical maps along with significant explanatory text. Includes choronological dating from ca.35,000 B.C. to 2000 A.D., and an extensive listing of North American Indian Nations with languages and geographic locations.
Chronology of American Indian History. REF E77.S72 2001 (In Library Use)
Arranged chronologically and dating back to ca. 25,000 B.C., this resource provides more depth than the timelines included within most other reference materials. A subject index is included in the back of the volume to help locate particular events.
Native North American Almanac. REF E77.N37 2001. (Regular Loan)
A vast resource on basic facts relating to Native Americans. Categories including: chronology, demography, major culture areas, languages, law and legislation, activism, environment, religion, the arts, literature, media, health, education, and the economy.