University of South Florida St. Petersburg Campus MyUSF  |    Directory    |     usf.edu    

As part of the USF response to COVID-19, USF St. Petersburg Library is closed. Please check back regularly for updates.
Please use the following page to stay updated on library services and resources related to the Coronavirus and remote learning:

USFSP Library Continuity Guide: Resources for Remote Learning

BSC 4933 Senior Seminar in Biology

Suggested Databases

Search one or more of these databases to identify articles on topics in biology & related disciplines.

Google Scholar Search

Google Scholar limits the results of your search to academically appropriate materials.

Google Scholar Search

Database Tutorials

Scholarly & Peer-Reviewed Articles

Peer review refers to the process where an author's work is reviewed or vetted by experts in the subject field before it is published in a scholarly / academic journal. This kind of review is often "blind" where the reviewers may not know who the author is and visa versa. The peer-review process ensures that quality of article is good; the hypothesis or research question has merit and the methodology, results and conclusions are appropriate, accurate and reproducible.

4 ways to locate the full text of an article

Click on the “full-text” link (when available) within the database.

Use the  Find it @ USF link included within a database.

Perform a title search on the title of the journal (not the article title) in the USF library catalog.

Use the e-journal finder.  Search by the title of the journal (not the article title) then browse the backfiles to locate the correct volume and issue.

Is this journal available electronically?