Florida Studies Research Guide: St. Petersburg campus

Use this link to find article databases by broad subject or discipline. Scroll down the list in the left menu to locate a discipline of interest, then click to see more options in the subcategory box.
Click the 'GO' button to see a list of resources.
For the most comprehensive results, consult related disciplines in addition to your main subject area.

In addition to scholarly journals, this database also includes news magazines (such as Time, Newsweek, or US News and World Report) and some newspapers (New York Times, Christian Science Monitor, USA Today, and the Wall Street Journal). Use the links on the left side of your search results screen to limit to magazines or newspapers.

Content in JSTOR spans many disciplines, primarily in the humanities and social sciences. Scholarly resources on JSTOR include Archival and Current Journals, Books, and Primary Sources.

Since its establishment in 1995, Project Muse has provided access to journals published by Johns Hopkins University. Other titles have been added, and now more than 250 publications in the humanities and social sciences are available.

Social Science Database offers indexing and full text for academic journals across a wide range of social science disciplines including anthropology, communication, criminology, economics, education, political science, psychology, social work, and sociology.

Humanities Full Text provides access to a variety of scholarly sources in the humanities, with abstracts dating from 1984 to the present and full text of select sources since 1995. In addition this database features numerous lesser-known magazines for specialists. Content available as full text or abstracts include feature articles, interviews, obituaries, bibliographies, book reviews, and reviews of performances and programs appearing in the media, along with other entries.

Provides access to more than 1.5 million bibliographic citations beginning in 1963. Areas covered include language, literature, folklore and linguistics. Since MLA Bibliography contains information in many languages, it is helpful to search using both the French and the English words.

Research areas cover news,industry, and market news; legal news and research; company financial information; general medical topics ; accounting, auditing, and tax information; law reviews; case law; U.S. Code.

Law-related resources including primary sources such as US Code, CFR, FR, federal & state cases and statutes

EBSCO database covers court decisions, new legislation, and legal scholarship

Part of the Engineering Village family of databases, GEOBASE covers research literature in geology, geography, environmental sciences, pollution, and oceanography.

This database focuses on resources in the fields of historical inquiry covering events in the United State and Canada since the pre-Columbian period. With all abstracts available in English, this database serves as a single point to research the content of more than 2,000 journals published worldwide. For sources that provide information about historical events outside of the United States and Canadian history, please review the Historical Abstracts database, also in this section.

Humanities Full Text provides access to a variety of scholarly sources in the humanities, with abstracts dating from 1984 to the present and full text of select sources since 1995. In addition this database features numerous lesser-known magazines for specialists. Content available as full text or abstracts include feature articles, interviews, obituaries, bibliographies, book reviews, and reviews of performances and programs appearing in the media, along with other entries.

Provides many of the most important academic journals in the humanities. Includes feature articles, interviews, bibliographies, obituaries, and original works of fiction, drama, poetry and book reviews, as well as reviews of ballets, dance programs, motion pictures, musicals, radio and television programs, plays, operas, and more. -- Humanities Source merges: Humanities Index Retrospective, Humanities Abstracts, Humanities Full Text, and Humanities International Complete. -- Simultaneous Users: Unlimited

Provides historical access to full-text materials in many different subject areas including business, economics, and management. The types of content includes journal articles, magazine articles, trade publications, and other historical materials.

Covers a wide variety of sources in all areas of sociology.

One of the largest collection of biological and medical research articles, book chapters, reviews, and patents.

Provides subject access to citations in medical journals.

This collection is comprised of several databases such as ASFA, Ecology Abstracts, Pollution Abstracts, Sustainability Science Abstracts, Toxicology Abstracts, and Water Resource Abstracts.