Skip to Main Content
University of South Florida St. Petersburg Campus MyUSF  |  My Library Accounts
Research Guides Subject & Course Guides Citing Sources Find a Book Find a Journal Find my Librarian Databases >> More
Special Collections USF Digital Commons Weekly Challenger Briggs Collection Briggs Coloring Book Faculty Author Works Faculty Books Crow's Nest Archive
Student Technology Center Renew Materials Request a Research Appointment Digital Learning St. Petersburg CITL Study Rooms Forms >> All Services
Employee Directory Library Spaces Innovative Learning USF St. Petersburg Contact Us Library Hours Directions & Map
Welcome Message Library News Library Gallery Nelson Poynter Biography Campus Units
Feedback Form Website Feedback

Collection Development & Technical Services

Collection Services is responsible for the following:

Collection Assessment & Analysis:

  • Providing discipline and subject-specific reports on the library’s collection
  • Providing analysis of the overall strengths and weaknesses of the collection
  • Analyzing holdings to identify material for de-selection
  • Analysis of serial and periodical subscriptions by format to identify the need for strategic cancellations, renewals and additions
  • Analyzing and describing current levels of collection activity
  • Supporting programmatic and regional accreditation

Collection Development

  • Coordinating library liaison selection activities
  • Providing standard bibliographies, recommendations and guidance to faculty and library liaisons
  • Selecting materials in all formats to enhance and develop collections
  • Developing collections to support new programs, new courses and new faculty
  • Receiving and evaluating gifts and working with donors to acquire materials
  • Creating and maintaining collection development policies

Coordination of Library Liasons (Subject Specialists)

Library faculty collaborate with teaching and research faculty to select and deselect library materials, developing library collections in areas of their expertise. For a list of subject area experts and their areas of responsiblities and contact information: