USF St. Petersburg Library: Research & Instruction: Textbook Affordability

Ebooks for the Classroom+

As part of the Textbook Affordability Project, the USF Libraries provide access to more than 466,000 ebooks. If a particular title isn't available, an order may be requested. Features unlimited simultaneous users, 12 major publishers (Wiley, Routledge, Oxford, Springer, etc). Search available titles at Ebooks for the Classroom

Additional video repositories licensed by the USF Libraries

Access to these databases requires a USF Login

Alexander Street Video This link opens in a new window
The Alexander Street Video collection includes newsreels, award-winning documentaries, field recordings, interviews, lectures, training videos, and exclusive primary footage. Unique collections: American History in Video, Dance in Video, Ethnographic Video Online, Filmakers Library Online, Opera in Video, Theater in Video
Kanopy This link opens in a new window
Kanopy is an online video streaming service that provides access to 26,000 videos from leading producers such as Criterion, Documentary Educational Resources, BBC Active, Film Ideas, Green Planet, Kino Lorber, PBS, Ronin Films, The Teaching Company and others. These videos are all genres - from documentaries to movies and training videos - and cover a variety of topics.
PBS Video Collection This link opens in a new window
Over 400 videos including Frontline, NOVA and American Experience. Requires USF login.

Swank Digital Campus
Popular and Academic streaming films requested for online courses.

OER Commons

OER Commons

More than 50,000 items and growing
Full courses, mini-lessons, simulations, textbooks
Use, adapt, create
Can be linked to Canvas
Try the Advanced search

OpenStax

OpenStax includes an extensive collection of learning objects (pages) that are organized into text-like books.

Browse the collections or use the Advanced Search to get more specific.
Books are available in PDF, EPUB, Kindle, or zip formats
Many of the chapter sections include review questions with solutions
Use all or part of the book
Free use of the materials is supported by the William & Flora Hewlett Foundation, Bill & Melinda Gates Foundation, Rice University (founder) and others.

Merlot II

Merlot II is a peer reviewed collection of more than 40,000 items

Includes learning exercises, open textbooks, case studies, animations, simulations, quizzes and more.
Items in the collection are peer reviewed using a standardized process.
The advanced search allows limits by educational level, material type, language, and license. Try the Advanced Merlot II Search