University of South Florida St. Petersburg Campus

Weekly Challenger African American Digital Newspaper Archive Research Guide

Introduction: Weekly Challenger Digital Newspaper Archive

 

 

It has been said that journalism is the first rough draft of history.
If that is true, The Weekly Challenger is writing a first draft about the history of St. Petersburg's African American community. 

Following are links to newspaper stories as well as resources about local African American history.  
And here is a link to an INDEX of story subjects from the newspaper's USF digital ARCHIVE

The Weekly Challenger has documented the history of St. Petersburg's African American community since the newspaper was established by Cleveland Johnson Jr. in September 1967.

In 2013 an agreement between the USF Nelson Poynter Memorial Library and the Johnson family allowed the library to become the home for existing print issues of The Weekly Challenger. Since 2016 the library and newspaper have worked in partnership to create the Weekly Challenger digital newspaper archive.

Available issues from the digital archive:
1973, 1976, 1979, 1981, 1983, 1984, 1985, 1986, 1987, 1988, 1989, 1990, 1992, 1994, 1995, 1997, 1998, 1999, 2000, 20012002, 2003, 2004, 2005, 2006, 2007, 2008, 2009, 2010, 2011, 2012, 2013, 2014, 2015, 2016, 2017, 2018, 2019, 2020, 2021, 2022

This digital archive is part of the USF Libraries African American Experience in Florida (AAE) online portal.

 

The Weekly Challenger website. 

"The Weekly Challenger turns 50!" 
By Lyn Johnson, The Weekly Challenger, print edition, Sep. 21, 2017. (Posted online Sep. 22, 2017.)
Excerpt:
"Fifty years ago today, The Weekly Challenger came into existence. My father, Cleveland Johnson, Jr., borrowed $40 from a friend to keep a months-old publication alive called the Weekly Challenge after the owner M.C. Fountain passed away. He added an 'r' and the rest is history."

 

ST. PETERSBURG AFRICAN AMERICAN HISTORY RESOURCES  




TAMPA AFRICAN AMERICAN HISTORY RESOURCES  


FLORIDA AFRICAN AMERICAN HISTORY RESOURCES 


 

StoryMaps: "Weekly Challenger Newspaper Stories." 
Our StoryMaps project includes excerpts from Weekly Challenger stories, a short 50th anniversary video, a map about the St. Petersburg African American Heritage Trail with links to related Weekly Challenger articles, and other resources.

 

 

VIDEOS / PHOTOS
 

Video: A short film created for The Weekly Challenger's 50th anniversary celebration. 
The Weekly Challenger and the Nelson Poynter Memorial Library, USF St. Petersburg campus, Oct. 27, 2017.

Video: Highlights from The Weekly Challenger's 50th anniversary celebration. 
The Weekly Challenger and the Nelson Poynter Memorial Library, USF St. Petersburg campus, Oct. 27, 2017.

Weekly Challenger Image Collection 

 

Index


ASSOCIATION FOR THE STUDY OF AFRICAN AMERICAN LIFE AND HISTORY
(ASALH, St. Petersburg, Florida, branch)

(Related articles)

BETHUNE, MARY McLEOD
(Related articles)

BLACK BURIAL GROUNDS TAMPA BAY
(Related articles)


BLACK HISTORY
(Related articles)


BLACK HISTORY MONTH
(Related articles)

BLACK LIVES MATTER
(Related articles)

CAMPBELL PARK NEIGHBORHOOD
(Related articles)

CHURCHES
(Related articles)

CIVIL RIGHTS
(Related articles)

CLARKE, JOHNNIE RUTH  
(Related articles)

COURAGEOUS 12 
(Related articles)

DAVIS, ENOCH D.  
(Related articles)

DAVIS, GOLIATH
"Exclusive Interview With Police Chief Goliath Davis." (Print version only)
By I.W. Williams, The Weekly Challenger, Sep. 11, 1999, page 1.
(Related articles: "Goliath J. Davis")
and
(Related articles: "Goliath Davis"

DAVIS, VYRLE
(Related articles)

THE DEUCES (22nd Street South)
(Related articles)

DONALDSON, JOHN & ANNA GERMAIN
(Related articles)

DOWNING , ALVIN J. ‘AL’
(Related articles)

EDUCATION
(Related articles)

FIGGS-SANDERS, DEBORAH
(Related articles)

FILLYAU, ERNEST
(Related articles)


FOOD
(Related articles)


FOSTER, WINNIE
(Related articles)

GARDENS
(Related articles)


GAS PLANT NEIGHBORHOOD (TROPICANA FIELD)
(Related articles)

GIBBS HIGH SCHOOL
(Related articles)

HAYNES II, WATSON 
(Related Articles)

HOPKINS, JOHN
(Related Articles)

HURSTON, ZORA NEALE
(Related articles)

INTEGRATION
(Related articles)

INTERSTATE 275
(Related article)

JAMERSON, DOUGLAS
(Related articles)

JONES, NORMAN
(Related articles)

JONES, BOB DEVIN
(Related articles)

JOHNSON, CLEVELAND
"The Weekly Challenger turns 50!"
By Lyn Johnson, The Weekly Challenger, print edition, Sep. 21, 2017. (Posted online Sep. 22, 2017.)  
(Related articles)

JORDAN, BASHA
(Related articles)

JORDAN, ELDER
(Related articles)

JORDAN PARK NEIGHBORHOOD
(Related articles)

JUNETEENTH
(Related articles


KING, JR. MARTIN LUTHER
(Related articles)

LAUREL PARK
(Related articles)

LYNCHINGS
(Related articles)

McLIN, OLIVE BEATRICE  
(Related articles)

McRAE, PAUL
(Related articles)

MANHATTAN CASINO
(Related articles

MERCY HOSPITAL
(Related articles)

METHODIST TOWN
(Related articles)

MUSIC
(Related articles)

PECK, ROSALIE  
(Related articles)

PERKINS, GEORGE W.  
(Related articles)

PETERMAN, PEGGY
"Minister Peggy M. Peterman." (Print version only)
The Weekly Challenger, Aug. 29, 1998, page 1.  
(Related articles)

PONDER, FANNYE AYER
(Related articles)

PONDER, JAMES MAXIE
(Related articles

PROTESTS
(Related articles)
 
REESE, GWENDOLYN
(Related articles)

ROUSON, DARRYL
(Related articles)

ROYAL THEATER
(Related articles)

RUBIN, MINSON
(Related articles)

ST. PETERSBURG AFRICAN-AMERICAN HERITAGE TRAIL
(Related articles

ST. PETERSBURG COLLEGE
(Related Articles)

SANDERLIN, JAMES B.
(Related articles)

SAVAGE, JOE
(Related articles)

SCOTT, TERRI LIPSEY
(Related articles)

SPORTS
(Related Articles)

STUDIO@620
(Related Articles)

SWAIN, ROBERT
(Related Articles)

TOMALIN, KANIKA
(Related Articles)

TROPICANA FIELD
(Related Articles)


UNIVERSITY OF SOUTH FLORIDA 
(Related articles)

URBAN LEAGUE
(Related articles)

WELCH, DAVID
(Related articles)


WELCH, FLAGMON

(Related articles)


WELCH, KEN
(Related articles)

WELLS, IDA B. 
(Related articles)

WHEELER-BOWMAN, LISA
(Related articles

WILLIAMS, TONJUA
(Related articles

WIMBISH, C. BETTE
(Related articles)

WIMBISH, RALPH
(Related articles)

WOODSON MUSEUM
(Related articles)

YESHITELA, OMALI
(Related articles)

SEE ALSO:

ST. PETERSBURG AFRICAN AMERICAN HISTORY RESOURCES

TAMPA AFRICAN AMERICAN HISTORY RESOURCES

FLORIDA AFRICAN AMERICAN HISTORY RESOURCES