Florida African American History Resources
It has been said that journalism is the first rough draft of history.
If that is true, The Weekly Challenger is writing a first draft about the history of St. Petersburg's African American community.
Here is a link to an INDEX of story subjects from The Weekly Challenger digital newspaper ARCHIVE.
This digital archive is part of the USF Libraries African American Experience in Florida (AAE) online portal.
Following are links to resources about Florida African American history.
_________________________________________________
FLORIDA AFRICAN AMERICAN HISTORY RESOURCES
_________________________________________________
STATE RESOURCES
Bibliography: Florida's African-American History.
Florida Department of State, Division of Library and Information Services
Research.
Civil Rights Library of St. Augustine
Florida African American Heritage Preservation Network
Florida Black Heritage Trail Guidebook.
Florida Civil Rights Hall of Fame.
Harry T. & Harriette V. Moore Memorial Park Site
Video: "The History of Southwest Florida: African-Americans, 1800-1960."
WGCU Public Media, 2004.
State Archives: Civil Rights Movement in Florida.
Floridamemory.com
State Archives: Black History Month Resources.
Floridamemory.com
State Archives: Racism and the Struggle for Civil Rights in Florida.
Floridamemory.com
FAMU Meek-Eaton Black Archives Research Center & Museum.
FAMU Digital Resource Center.
Florida Commissioner of Education's African American History Task Force.
FLORIDA HUMANITIES (Formally the Florida Humanities Council)
The Long History of Race Relations in Florida
"This four-part panel series covered Florida’s Black history from European settlement, the Civil War and Reconstruction, and the Civil Rights Movements of the mid-20th century and the present."
Video: “Black Lives Matter: The Current Struggle for Civil Rights and Racial Justice in Florida."
Florida Humanities Florida Talks: At Home! program,
Posted on YouTube, November 12, 2020.
Video: “I Am a Man: The Struggle for Civil Rights in Florida."
Florida Humanities Florida Talks: At Home! program,
Posted on YouTube, November 3, 2020.
Video: "Reconstruction and the Jim Crow Era."
Florida Humanities Florida Talks: At Home! program,
Posted on YouTube, November 2, 2020.
Video: "The Spanish Colonial and Slavery Eras in Florida."
Florida Humanities Florida Talks: At Home! program,
Posted on YouTube, October 25, 2020.
See Also:
African American History Archive: An Audio, Print, and Video Bibliography.
Florida Humanities, 2020.
AFRICAN AMERICAN RESEARCH LIBRARY AND CULTURAL CENTER
African-American Research Library and Cultural Center.
Fort Lauderdale, Florida. A branch of the Broward County Library.
"In Fort Lauderdale, an historic effort to archive Black digital lives begins."
South Florida Sun Sentinel, August 8, 2020.
BLACK ARCHIVES HISTORY AND RESEARCH FOUNDATION OF SOUTH FLORIDA
The Black Archives History and Research Foundation of South Florida.
Miami, Florida.
Finding Aids: Black Archives History and Research Foundation of South Florida.
Browse by collection title.
Video: "Until The Lions Tell Their Story: The Importance of Community Archives."
Society of Florida Archivists, September 16, 2020.
FAMILY HERITAGE HOUSE MUSEUM
Family Heritage House Museum.
Bradenton, Florida.
"The Family Heritage House: A Unique Museum-College Library Partnership."
By Alicia Long, Florida Libraries, Spring 2020.
JOHN GILMORE RILEY CENTER/MUSEUM FOR AFRICAN AMERICAN HISTORY & CULTURE
John Gilmore Riley Center/Museum for African American History & Culture.
Tallahassee, Florida.
"The mission and purpose of the John Gilmore Riley Center/Museum for African American History & Culture, Inc. is to discover, archive and illuminate the blended interrelationship of African American, Native American and European history and preserve African American landmarks and legacies throughout the State of Florida"
See Also:
Florida African American Heritage Preservation Network (FAAHPN).
FAAHPN Museums: Directory of Florida African-American Museums.
COLLECTIONS
The Florida Digital Newspaper Library: Ethnic Newspapers from Florida.
MyFlorida: The official portal of the State of Florida.
ADDITIONAL RESOURCES
National Museum of African American History and Culture.
Washington, DC.
Enslaved People in the Southeast.
This digital exhibit, which includes scans from the USF Tampa Library, was created and curated by the Association of Southeastern Research Libraries (ASERL) Special Collections Interest Group, 2021.
BOOKS
Colburn, David R. and Jane L. Landers, eds. The African American Heritage of Florida.
Gainesville: University Press of Florida, 1995.
Green, Ben. Before His Time: The Untold Story of Harry T. Moore, America's First Civil Rights Martyr.
New York: Free Press, 1999.
Jackson, David H. and Canter Brown, Jr., Go Sound the Trumpet! Selections in Florida's African American History.
Tampa: University of Tampa Press, 2005.
Jones, Maxine D. and Kevin M. McCarthy. African Americans in Florida.
Sarasota: Pineapple Press, 1993.
Klingman, Peter D. Josiah Walls: Florida’s Black Congressman of Reconstruction.
Gainesville: University Presses of Florida, 1976.
Levy, Eugene D. James Weldon Johnson, Black Leader, Black Voice.
Chicago: University of Chicago Press, 1973.
McLeod, Yanela G. The Miami Times and the Fight for Equality:
Race, Sport, and the Black Press, 1948-1958.
Lanham: Lexington Books, 2019.
Pride, Armistead Scott and Clint C. Wilson. A History of the Black Press.
Washington, DC: Howard University Press, 1997.
Smith, Charles, ed. The Civil Rights Movement in Florida and the United States.
Tallahassee: Father and Son Publishing, 1989.
Suggs, Henry Lewis. The Black Press in the South, 1865-1979.
Westsport: Greenwood Press, 1983.
Thornbrough, Emma Lou. T. Thomas Fortune: Militant Journalist.
Chicago: University of Chicago Press, 1972.
Washburn, Patrick S. The African American Newspaper: Voice of Freedom.
Evanston, IL: Northwestern University Press, 2006.
Wolseley, Roland E. The Black Press, U.S.A. 2nd ed.
Ames: Iowa State University Press, 1990.
SEE ALSO:
"Black History of Florida: A Reading List."
University Press of Florida, 2020.